Backstreet Boys – Backstreet’s Back

Andy’s Musical Evolution Part 5

Next we move to the phase where I was listening to a lot of commercial radio. I would make my own compilation tapes from recording songs that I liked off the radio … Now I’m guessing that if we divided my audience between those that can remember doing this, and those that can’t imagine why you’d ever want to do such a thing – there’d be a distinct age divide with the split being somewhere around 30 years old.  … But yeah, it was a thing.

The point is, these tapes weren’t full of cool music that I can be proud of today. They were examples of my awkward transition from the mainstream to the more obscure – and so they had some really tacky crap on them.

Actually, this BB tune is one of the less embarrassing tunes – I mean, come on, at the very least you have to admit that video was pretty good. I couldn’t bring myself to feature some of the more forgettable tunes that I know were on those tapes …. T-Shirt’s You Sexy Thing, anyone?